On Points

A coworker sparked my interest in the practice of signing up for credit cards to get the sign up bonus points and earn free travel. So, Chris and I have signed up for four credit cards and have earned about 200,000 “miles” or about $2,000 to spend on hotels or airfare so far. Peanuts compared to folks who spend a bit more effort and earn, like, a million miles a year. But hey, it’s $2,000 we didn’t have before. It would be nice, at least, to not have the huge budget bombs of plane tickets for Thanksgiving and Christmas.

I just found myself down a hole looking at tickets for Fourth of July weekend. Maybe to San Diego? Maybe Portland or Seattle? I was doing points math, checking deals leaving Thursday night vs Friday morning.

Then I remembered I actually love Fourth of July in Denver. So I feel silly.

One thought on “On Points

Thoughts?

