Mondays are long days.  I leave for work at 6:30 to catch the early bus.  The later bus gets me to the office just on time, and on Mondays I need to start out not almost running late.

The day’s schedule is hectic, so Mondays I don’t normally take much of a lunch.  I leave work and head to my regular volunteer gig, and I get home around 9.  But it’s not the long hours that throw me off kilter.

What really throws me off is that at six in the morning, I have to plan my next three meals.  I have to bring enough food to get me through over fifteen hours of the day: breakfast, lunch, dinner, and two snacks. I can’t carry a purse on Mondays; I have to carry a messenger bag, because that’s the only way I can fit (from top to bottom) a yam, cucumbers, ravioli, grapes, and chili along with the rest of the things I need for the day.

Thoughts?

