2011 Books

I want to read at least 25 books in 2011.  Hoping to be closer to 30.  I’m 8 down, 17-22 to go.  What I’ve read so far, with links to my longer thoughts on goodreads:

Going Gray : What I Learned About Beauty, Sex, Work, Motherhood

Going Gray : What I Learned About Beauty, Sex, Work, Motherhood
I liked it!  I have one, maybe two confirmed gray hairs, and this book made me want to never dye my hair again.  I will turn 30 in 2012, I’m enthusiastically embracing aging.

Better Off: Flipping the Switch on Technology (P.S.)

Better Off: Flipping the Switch on Technology
Eh.  I thought it was going to be funnier.

This Is Where I Leave You

This Is Where I Leave You
Really enjoyed.  It felt like watching a holiday movie.  Except instead of being home for Christmas, the wacky extended family is home for shiva.

Speech-less: Tales of a White House Survivor

Speech-less: Tales of a White House Survivor
Dreadful.  Smug.

Eating Animals

Eating Animals
Reminded me of why I make some of the food choices that I do.  I thought I knew a good bit about factory farming but this included some really gross details and some really interesting facts.

One Day

One Day
Promising premise, but the main characters were so whiney I didn’t see why they were attracted to each other (or why I should care).

The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake

The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake
So interesting!  Lots going on, really good characters. I want to read more by the author.

The Art of Racing in the Rain

The Art of Racing in the Rain

Yeah, I cried.  The ending was a little silly but I liked it.

Abandoned, and not counted in my total:

Cutting for Stone

Cutting for Stone
A graphic account of trying to kill a fetus to save the mother? Not before bed.  And not during lunch.  And that’s when I read, folks.

Dog Years: A Memoir

Dog Years: A Memoir
I’m curious to see if the stream of consciousness tidbits and nonlinear stories comes together to a more cohesive story, but after 70 pages it hadn’t.

Thoughts?

