25 Books in 2011 Update

I set a goal to read 25 books in 2011, with a secret goal of getting closer to 30.  As of today, I’m at 18!  Fun facts: 18 is 72% of 25, and September 18th is 72% of the way through 2011.  These are the 13 I’d read as of June, and here’s where I’ve gone since:

Bossypants

Bossypants by Tina Fey
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Hilarious. Made me love her more than I already do. A bit vulgar without just being gross. Definitely had giggle out loud moments. Also, I am a sucker for behind the scenes stuff. (That’s why I am obsessed with Aaron Sorkin.) I loved hearing about how she ended up on SNL, how the Palin skits went down, etc.

Water for Elephants

Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I have to say it lived up to the hype. I was totally engrossed. Not seeing the movie, though! Due to the ethical issues with training the performing animals they used.

The Book Thief

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Man! I had just a bit of a hard time settling into the narrative style, but after maybe 30-40 pages I was hooked. It’s a really beautiful story, and even though there are sad parts, I like that the narrator gives you “spoilers” so you see them coming.

  The Widower's Tale

The Widower’s Tale by Julia Glass
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Loved. I cannot say enough good things about this book. I loved the characters and the story telling was top notch. The author writes very deliberately but the foreshadowing and later tie ins aren’t too tidy. While I still wonder what will happen to these people down the road, the ending was still satisfying.

  A Visit from the Goon Squad

A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I know empirically that this is a Good Book. It won a zillion awards (including a friggin’ Pulitzer) and I recognize that it’s got interesting structure and it’s all post modern and junk.

But I thought it was boring. I enjoyed the first chapter, about Sasha and her therapist, and I enjoyed the chapter about Dolly and Lulu and their trip with Kitty. The rest couldn’t hold my attention. The article about the reporter meeting Kitty was maybe the most boring. (I couldn’t make myself read the footnotes. I was already too annoyed.) The last chapter I only managed to finish because I knew I was so close to the end I was sprinting to the finish line. I cannot stand text speak in books, especially used heavily and unrealistically.

“nxt 2 myn. no mOr Ar/lyt.” 

Seriously? Stop it. Why is that O randomly capitalized?  That isn’t abbreviation.  Gah.

Next up!  The Great Sync Read.   As soon as I finish my current book, Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet.  I’m enjoying it very much, and should be finished in the next day or two.

Thoughts?