Done

My literary new year was actually December 25th. Last year I got an ereader for Christmas and plowed through two or three books at my folks’ house and on the plane home. I set a goal to read 25 books before Christmas 2011, and I finished up my 25th book with a few days to spare. (I didn’t finish the Steve Jobs biography, but it’s on my night stand and will count for 2012.) Shamelessly ripping off these two lovely recaps of the year.

 

Total pages read:

8,376 (Not counting ones I didn’t finish)

Average book length:

335

Longest book:

Freedom

Freedom – 562 pages

Shortest book:

Let's Take the Long Way Home: A Memoir of Friendship

Let’s Take the Long Way Home: A Memoir of Friendship – 190 pages

Least Satisfying Ending:

The Leftovers

The Leftovers

Hated:

A Visit from the Goon SquadSpeech-less: Tales of a White House SurvivorOne DayEat, Pray, Love

A Visit from the Goon Squad (boring)

Speech-less: Tales of a White House Survivor (pompous)

One Day (clichéd)

Eat, Pray, Love (OMG shut up, Liz)

Loved:

The Book ThiefThe Widower's TaleThis Is Where I Leave You

The Book Thief

The Widower’s Tale

This is Where I Leave You

Might have worked better as a blog:

The 100 Thing Challenge: How I Got Rid of Almost Everything, Remade My Life, and Regained My SoulBetter Off: Flipping the Switch on TechnologyConfessions of a Tax Collector: One Man's Tour of Duty Inside the IRSGoing Gray : What I Learned About Beauty, Sex, Work, Motherhood

The 100 Thing Challenge

Better Off: Flipping the Switch on Technology

Confessions of a Tax Collector: One Man’s Tour of Duty Inside the IRS

Going Gray : What I Learned About Beauty, Sex, Work, Motherhood

Might have enjoyed it more if it was less hyped:

Major Pettigrew's Last StandRoomHotel on the Corner of Bitter and SweetSuper Sad True Love Story

Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand

Super Sad True Love Story

Room                               

Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet

Fiction I can do, but fantasy sometimes makes me wary:

Wicked : The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West (Wicked Years, #1)The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake

Wicked

The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake

Ahn-ee-muhls! :

The Art of Racing in the RainEating AnimalsWater for Elephants

The Art of Racing in the Rain

Eating Animals

Water for Elephants

Does this even count as reading?

BossypantsSuperFreakonomics: Global Cooling, Patriotic Prostitutes And Why Suicide Bombers Should Buy Life Insurance

Bossypants

Superfreakonomics

 

Abandoned:

Dog YearsCutting for StoneAnimal, Vegetable, MiracleThe Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie SocietyBeing Wrong: Adventures in the Margin of Error

Dog Years (Too meandering)

Cutting for Stone (Too gross)

Animal, Vegetable, Miracle (Too long)

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society (Too many World War II books this year)

Being Wrong: Adventures in the Margin of Error (Too boring)

Same goal for 2012! I thought about upping it, but I don’t want to just be reading for the sake of a notch on my book belt.

Thoughts?

