Awkward Tacos

I eat at Chipotle a lot. Like…a lot. There are weeks I eat lunch there Monday through Thursday.

Yesterday, not one but two employees commented on my ordering a bowl instead of my usual two tacos. “Hungry today!” “Going all in!” Which made me feel like I needed to explain that I was going to eat half now and eat the rest in place of my usual afternoon snack. (Which I did.) And it made me feel like I needed to explain that the way I order (extra veggies, extra salsa, no dairy) is actually a pretty healthy meal and not the food bomb their typical burrito is. (Kept that one to myself.)

Second, as I’m paying…

“Mel, you don’t work at corporate do you?”

“Like, Chipotle headquarters? No.”

“Oh. We all thought that you did.”

 

We all? Awkward.

Thoughts?

