Things You Can Tell Just By Looking At Her (House)

A few months ago I had a little meltdown after spending a Saturday morning trying to clean our house. Long story short, I got overwhelmed, somehow ended up vacuuming out the drawers in the bathroom. And then feeling sad that our place didn’t really look any better.

I don’t know how to better explain that. Sorry!

Anyways. I was like, enough. I don’t know how to do this, I don’t like doing it, and it’s really easy to hire people who will do it 1,000 times better than I will.

So every once in a while, maybe quarterly? Usually when we’re having visitors, I email a very nice woman named Stacie and she dispatches one of her team of wizards to our house. It’s about $100, they get the tub cleaner than I could if my life depended on it, magically get every speck of pet hair off the furniture, and even change the sheets if I ask. They use all natural supplies, nothing has a weird smell, and it’s basically the best money you could ever spend.

Chris’s parents are in town this weekend, so the wizard came on Wednesday. When I got home, I realized I had left a bag of cat nip out, and it kind of looks like a little bag of pot, and I wondered if she raised an eyebrow. I’m sure if you clean homes you see crazier things, but I wondered what she thought of us and where we stood on the scale of weird. Looking around, what can you tell about us? Nothing super interesting as far as I can tell.

We like beer. And haven’t changed this clock to DST. (And never will!)

We look like this.

We shop at West Elm.

Are vegetarians.

And work out. And need to do laundry.

Like swimming! (And beer. The bottle opener and the pool schedule are the  only things that go on the front of the refrigerator and not the side.)

I got all thoughtful about it, like would you know someone better from cleaning their home or reading their blog? Being their friend or reading their mail?

But mostly I was glad I hadn’t left anything embarrassing out. (Aside from the cat nip “hash.”)

Thoughts?

