Books #6 and #7

For March and April my book club decided on a Hemingway one-two punch of A Moveable Feast (Hemingway’s memoir about living in Paris in the twenties with his first wife, Hadley) and The Paris Wife (roughly the same time frame, but told from her perspective and technically a fiction book).

I definitely recommend this as an interesting combination. Lots of good discussion on both books. I wish we had read The Paris Wife first because the narrative was much more clear whereas A Moveable Feast jumped around quite a bit and was more of a collection of vignettes than it was a cohesive story.

A Moveable Feast

A Moveable Feast by Ernest Hemingway

This wasn’t my favorite but I don’t really feel like I can assign it a number of stars.   it’s obviously a big important book by a big important writer but it was a little confusing just not my cup of tea.

The Paris Wife

The Paris Wife by Paula McLain

I liked this quite a bit. Even though Hadley was making me bang my head against the wall, I was still rooting for her and when she opted not to jump into the water I cheered! It was a quick read, though I’m not sure exactly why. It wasn’t especially light material, but I think the plot was just really good, even though I knew the ultimate ending already.

Up Next:

A Gate at the Stairs

A Gate at the Stairs by Lorrie Moore

I am in love with this so far! I think I’m dragging my feet because I don’t want it to be over.

Thoughts?

