Temple Grandin, I’m pleased to meet you!

So, I have been mulling over how I’d like to say this. But I got to meet Temple Grandin at a book signing. And I am a fan of hers to be sure. Animals Make Us Human is one of the most interesting books I have ever read, and the movie about her life was wonderful and compelling. It was really cool to get to hear her speak (at a book signing at the Tattered Cover). She was engaging and charming and very funny.

But, well, she is autistic. That’s what makes her great at her job. It’s also what made our book signing exchange go like this…

Me: Hello! It’s so nice to meet you!

Her: Okay.

Me: Thank you so much for signing my book!

Her: Yep.

And scene. I took my book and slunk off.

Awkward. And I admit it stung a little, even knowing I shouldn’t expect the most elegant social skills. I get really emotional when I meet famous people I admire, or even just see them in real life. I get a lump in my throat and definitely want to cry. I suppose it’s a strange feeling to have a really personal connection to someone’s work or music or writing and then to face this persona as a real person.

Also awkward? This couple sitting in front of me who kept stealing kisses.

I was like…hi. I’m right here. Really? Okay. That’s it. I’m putting your picture on the internet! With a blue dot, like on cops, because Denver’s kind of a small town.

Thoughts?

