Dressing Room Snaps

Okay, so it wasn’t horribly obnoxious the last time I posted pictures of myself trying on clothes, right? I went shopping by myself again and feel compelled to share. I wish there was some sort of site where people who are 5 foot 8 and wear a size 12 and like to shop at Ann Taylor could congregate and swap notes. Does this exist?

First of all, the dressing rooms at this Ann Taylor have lights behind the mirrors. Which makes it really hard to take decent photos with a phone. I had to use the trick where you point your phone at something dark (the floor) and then quick move it back up to take a picture of what you really want before it has a chance to adjust to the lighting.

Does that even make sense? Otherwise I ended up with this:

Do you think that’s on purpose? Do you think they want to discourage camera phone action because when you post a picture of yourself trying something on in the dressing room it will never look as good as it does on the model? And they don’t want you to post it on the internet and be like “Here’s what normal people look like in this dress.”

Moving on. Look at these fancy photo collages I made on my phone while I was on the not-quite-an-elliptical-machine the other day! Cut here because this got really long and many years of using livejournal in college trained me to think it’s polite not to spam people’s feeds with tons of pictures.

This pink skirt was really soft. The biggest size in the store was an 8, and it did a not-so-flattering clingy thing to my hips. I think a bigger size would be great, but I don’t even see it on their website anymore so probably not meant to be.

This teal dress was the only thing I tried that wasn’t on sale, so I was happy it didn’t fit well. I needed an extra inch in the hips and an inch subtracted from the waist. (if I recall correctly it was a size 12.) It also had this zipper up the side. I thought it was an interesting detail, but it made me laugh to think about the purpose. Like…just in case you need to…ride a horse on the fly!

I just asked Chris what he thought the purpose of a zipper like this would be. He replied “So you can up the slut if you need to.” Classy.

This hot pink dress looked so cute on the model but it felt really old ladyish on. And that’s coming from someone who is always the youngest person in Ann Taylor… The shoulders were boxy and the material was kind of scratchy. An 8 was the biggest size in the store, which is why this looks too small. You know, because it is.

Oh, hello flattering but modest work appropriate dress! This guy came home with me, the fabric was awesome and thick and just stretchy enough. Sadly it is going back because when I tried it on at home and took a few steps it immediately started riding up. It was right at my cutoff point for too-short-for-work when I was standing still, so once it started riding up it was more like work-appropriate-only-if-you-are-on-a-tv-show. My fault for trying to make something from the petite section work. (I found this on a sale rack in a 12P.)

And finally…my only winner. This dress is kind of a perfect blank slate. It’s not that exciting on its own but it works with big belts or big necklaces or interesting shoes. And the skirt does a really neat floaty thing when you walk. It ran way big. I bought a 10 and it was still a little loose, but I err on the side of loose. That way when if it ends up in the dryer on accident, it might still be saved from the goodwill pile.

One final thought. Ann Taylor, who on earth do you think is shopping at your store to buy this fringey feathery hot pink mini skirt? Stick to what you’re good at. That is to say, MOAR tweed, plz.

Thoughts?

