Weekend Update

This was a super chill weekend. Brunch, workouts, pedicures, cooking. This is more for me than for you, so you might just want to look at the pictures and keep scrolling.

Friday afternoon I reluctantly passed on office beers. I had opted to sleep in rather than knock out my workout in the morning. So I waived goodbye to my happy-hour-ing coworkers and hit the gym for an hour spin and a 30 minute run. I finished right as they were closing at 8 pm.

Came home. Sat in the backyard and drank a Ranger IPA. Caught up with Chris. It felt like I barely got to hang out with him this week. Marveled at how late it stays light. Took a bath and went to sleep.

Saturday morning I considered swimming in Bowles Reservoir at 7 and going to Root Yoga at 12:30. Realized I could also swim and do yoga at the gym and be finished and home by 11 instead of by 2. Done.

Felt proud of myself for saving time. Promptly wasted it on the internet.

Saturday afternoon

Haircut! Mentioned I’ve been into braids lately, and my stylist showed me a new way to braid my hair. Sadly, you know how your hair is all…slippery when freshly washed? Yeah, it all sort of unraveled shortly after I left.

I returned a dress at Ann Taylor and returned another dress to Target. Then of course I bought two new dresses at Target. You know, to maintain balance. But both of my new dresses are less expensive, so still a net gain.

I’m wearing the stripey one right now. It makes me want to sing “I’m on a Boat!”

Does anyone else have a stack of those crappy extra bits of fabric they try to pass off as a belt? I never wear them because they look so cheap. And apparently I’m trying to pass off my $20 Target dress as…I don’t know, a $30 Gap dress?

I picked up Chris from work because I was afraid it was going to rain, but it didn’t. I convinced him to swing by Nordstrom Rack on the way home to look for shorts for him. He ended up trying on zero things. I tried on four dresses but passed on everything.

Saturday night we…went grocery shopping then fell asleep on the couch. Fascinating stuff.

Sunday morning we took Harper on a playdate with his BFF Winslow.

Then engaged in apparently our only social activity of the weekend, brunch with friends at Sputnik! But they changed their quinoa cake dish. Not as good as it used to be.

Sunday afternoon Chris and I got pedicures. As always, I immediately wished I’d picked another color. I always have severe color remorse.

I rode my bike in nine million degree weather to slog through a brick at the gym (60 minute spin + 15 minute incline walk). It was hot even inside and I was bored with my book, bored with my music, and there was nothing good on tv.

Sunday night I fixed up a batch of my homemade Chipotle bowls and somehow Chris and I got to talking about Cake (the band, not the food) and how excited we are to see them in July at Red Rocks. And then we played tons of Cake super loud and sang along.

Standing in the Alpha Beta parking lot, watching you leave me…

Sheep go to heaven, goats go to hell!,

We are building a religion! We are building it bigger!

She’s changing her name from Kitty to Karen She’s trading her MG for a white Chrysler La Baron

She’s got a serrated edge that she moves back and forth. It’s such a simple machine, she doesn’t have to use force.

I’m sitting by the window of your 32nd floor apartment, waiting for your phone calls all to end

Proglonging the Magic is my favorite album, followed by Fashion Nugget, but followed closely by Comfort Eagle.

Took a bath. Did a little work. Enjoyed the extremely refreshing combination of Pellegrino Limonata with a splash of whiskey. And then it was Monday morning!

Thoughts?

