Harvest Moon 70.3 – Obligatory Pre Race Post about Goals

  1. Finish.
  2. Don’t cry.

I signed up for this race eight months ago, on January 2nd. Thanks a lot, Past Mel. Doing a Half Ironman to celebrate turning 30 seemed like a good idea at the time.

Now it’s here (on Sunday). I had to abandon my carefully crafted training plan in favor of a Just-swim-bike-or-run-whenever-you-have-a-spare-moment strategy. I honestly think I might feel awesome and putter along, crossing the finish line smiling. I also might have a meltdown (mechanical or emotional) on the side of the road during the bike.

Stay tuned.

2 thoughts on “Harvest Moon 70.3 – Obligatory Pre Race Post about Goals

  1. Ooohh, good luck this weekend!! Go out there and enjoy yourself! And kick some butt! Then go back to that Alec Baldwin lookalike and tell him all about it 😉

    • Yes, that is totally the way to bring it up. “Oh hey, I’m well! Yeah, the race was good, I was worried about the bike since it’s 56 MILES and all but…”

Thoughts?

