Obligatory Pre-Race Post About Goals: Oktoberfest Sprint Triathlon

Image

I am doing a sprint triathlon on Sunday.  I’ll be curious to see how this goes. It’s appropriate to taper for more than a week, right?

Image 

On the one hand, after already completing a sprint, and Olympic and a half iron this year, this should seem “easy.” On the other hand, I haven’t worked out in two weeks (save for one three mile run) and I’ve really only increased my endurance this year, I got nothing for speed. Last year I completed the run leg of this race at a 10:50 pace. That sounds like magic to me right now. I haven’t run that fast in months and months. (The usual caveat about that being fast for me, I’m slow, blah blah boring.) It would be fun to PR, but I just don’t think I’m there. 

I’m kind of torn. Should I try to push as hard as I can? See what this body can do? Or cruise along at my usual happy Mel pace and be there “just for fun”?

A coworker is also doing this race, and I’m not gonna lie. How close I am to beating her might determine if I really “sprint” or not. 

I’m kind of jealous of everyone running the Rock and Roll in Denver tomorrow. Seems like that’s what all the cool kids are doing. I will be hanging out just past mile four cheering, though!

Thoughts?

