It was hot, now it’s cold, and other breaking news

Last weekend we went to the Green Spaces Full Moon Harvest Festival. There were a bunch of eco-friendly vendors (I was most excited to stop at chat with Nooch and Plants and Animals.) We got some yummy food truck snacks, Chris chatted with a local fermented food club (he just made his first batch of homemade sauerkraut). There was a small stage and some good beer.

I took some crappy photos on my phone. We didn’t stay all that long because it was too hot.

Green

 

This morning I planned my run to take me through City Park to check out Cultivate, a festival put on by Chipotle. There were activities for kids, food booths, and a bunch of informational booths. (It was like a giant festival informercial for Chipotle, but in a good way). There was a small stage and some good beer.

I took some crappy photos on my phone. I didn’t stay all that long because it was snowing.

Cultivate

I don’t generally care to offer too much commentary on the weather, but I was not quite ready to run in this cold weather. But I did! I ran seven miles. I got snowed on and my hands and legs were starting to feel numb on the last stretch to get home. So this should count double.

I’m refusing to turn my heat on this early (I feel like I just escaped the pricey air conditioning months) so I’m sitting at my dining room table, typing, with a mug of tea, a dog in my lap, bundled up in a fleece and wool socks. I would put a hat on but I don’t want my hair to get flat, because it’s almost time to go to the Booklover’s Ball!

Photo on 10 6 12 at 4 11 PM
 
The photos from the last three years show Chris’s hair getting longer and my earrings getting bigger, but this year Chris just rebooted his hair and I love last year’s earrings so much I’m wearing them again. I thought about buying a new dress, but I have my eye on the rumored new iPad coming soon and of all the shiny things I spend money on, I choose gadget over gown.
 
We look forward to this so much every year. 2011 was the year I finally met Governor Hickenlooper (in line at the bar) and danced with my city council representative. We’ll see if we can top that.
 
Edited to add: Chris just got home and handed me these, so now I feel cuter and warmer:
Photo on 10 6 12 at 4 28 PM
 
Thoughts?

