Obligatory cell phone pictures and a bunch of random unconnected thoughts from an Alanis Morissette concert

Obligatory cell phone pictures:

IMG 3423

Despite my terrible photos, we actually had really amazing seats at this show tonight. I am so blind that unless we’re in the first ten rows, I just see blur.

Her bass player was super hot.

I didn’t plan well, arrived starving, and ate the grossest pretzel ever.

I wish I wasn’t, but I was distracted by how much I disliked her green pants.

IMG 3424

I was a little surprised that I knew the words to almost every song. I’m a fan, but maybe I didn’t realize I’m a super fan.

Except when it came to ‘So Unsexy‘ which is one of my favorite songs ever, ever, ever. Because it’s about being sensitive and feeling like you’re being silly and let’s just say I can relate.

all these little abandonments
seem to sting so easily
I’m 13 again
Am I 13 for good?

I felt like I was one of the only people belting it out so I tried to belt a little more quietly.
 

IMG 3422

Under Rug Swept is my favorite album. And Supposed Former Infatuation Junkie, but mostly the second half of that one.

I always think it must be really hard to get really, really famous for something when you’re really young. Like, she was 19 0r 20 I think when Jagged Little Pill came out. Can you imagine your breakup poetry from that age being the thing you are most known for the the rest of your life?

At the same time, I like when artists are happy to play the songs that made them famous (and rich) and do it with a smile.

This lady is a freaking rockstar. Glitter guitars and did not stop dancing around for two hours. Same with her band, they were all jumping around the stage like jackrabbits.

She’s also at this point probably given like…ninety thousand concerts, right? No chatting. Many “Thank you so much”s but that was about it. Get in, sing your songs, and get out.

I had FORGOTTEN about the hair-swinging, staggering headbang walk. If you haven’t seen that hair swing around in person you haven’t seen Shakespeare the way it was meant to be played.

I’ve been listening to Alanis Morissette since I was in 7th grade. A lot of these songs take me back to really specific ridiculous places. Like the school bus. Or my dorm room. Or my old car.

I always felt like a faker rocking out to ‘You Oughta Know’ because (KNOCK ON ALL THE THINGS) I’ve never had a bad breakup.

She looks so much like Soleil Moon Frye it’s eerie.

 

Livejournal style:

Mood: content

Current music: Alanis Morissette – Unsent – Supposed Former Infatuation Junkie

One thought on “Obligatory cell phone pictures and a bunch of random unconnected thoughts from an Alanis Morissette concert

  1. Ive been thinking about her lately because I’m watching the follow up to The Business of Being Born and the 2nd part of that is interviews with celebrities about their birth stories. Have I lost you yet? Anywho, she tells hers and she uses so many words I rarely hear in everyday life and her whole demeanor is so calm and yet silly. Plus her teeth are so straight and nice!

    This is probably the most random comment I’ve ever left on your blog.

Thoughts?

