The Bet

The annual bet about who-can-go-the-longest-without-finding-out-who-won-the-super-bowl has started. The first 24 hours really require a total media black out and the occasional fingers in your ears, but now we’re in the it-could-come-from-anywhere! phase of the game. I’ve gotten spoiled by an episode of Royal Pains. Chris has gotten spoiled by an article about the White Stripes in a music magazine.

It feels a little…smug and just so terribly anti, but I promise it’s not the spirit in which the bet is intended. I could just not watch the Super Bowl. I don’t care about the game, but when I say I don’t care, I really don’t care. Meaning I also don’t care about people who do really like the Super Bowl. It’s just not my bag in the same way, I don’t know. Riding a unicycle isn’t my bag. I don’t complain on twitter about people who like to ride unicycles. And I don’t roll my eyes when I see people riding unicycles. I just…don’t ride a unicycle.

But rather than just skipping the whole thing, The Bet is a way for folks like me to participate in this national holiday. The Bet, and eating guacamole.

(PS I submitted to speak at Ignite Denver! Part of the selection process is voting on the topics, so if you wanted to click over and vote for my topic (Common Law Marriage) that would be cool! http://ignitedenver.org/spark-voting/)

Thoughts?

