To bet or not to bet

Chris and I have a long-running tradition of competing to see who can go the longest without finding out the winner of the Super Bowl. I think this would be the seventh year, actually.

I don’t like football but I try not to be on a high horse about it. Chris is a bit more openly disdainful of people who spend their weekends watching sports. I don’t think it’s a worthwhile way to spend time and it’s pretty detrimental to the players themselves. But I’d also say watching the Bachelor is a waste of time and also pretty detrimental to the players themselves. So, live and let watch, I say.

But! This year, as you may know, the Denver Broncos are in the Super Bowl. Since we live in Denver, since we live maybe two miles from the stadium where they play, and since if they win there will be a parade that likely goes right past where both of us work, this year is a little different. 

So I can’t decide if this is the ultimate year for the bet, if this is the greatest and most epic challenge we’ll ever get to face? Or if it’s just too hard and we should throw in the towel, watch the game, and cheer for our city with the rest of our neighbors.

One thought on “To bet or not to bet

Thoughts?